top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan

A-Z Bookish Survey

I found this on the Spines & Covers website, who have credited the tag to Perpetual Page Turner. Whilst it's probably a hella old tag, I like taking part in these every so often as it makes me think more about the books I've got on my shelf and why they're still there. Here's my A-Z of books...

 

AUTHOR YOU’VE READ THE MOST BOOKS FROM

I'm not a particularly loyal reader so unless I'm reading a series it's rare I'll stick to one author. The answer is potentially Jane Austen because I read a lot of her work throughout university.


BEST SEQUEL EVER

Sequels have a tendency to disappoint, let's be honest. One of Us is Next was pretty good as it didn't fall into the trap of flogging a dead horse, but even then I wouldn't call it the "best sequel ever".


CURRENTLY READING

Lancelot by Giles Kristian, an Arthurian retelling.


DRINK OF CHOICE WHILE READING

Coffee or a hot chocolate - or a mocha if we're feeling fancy!



E-READER OR PHYSICAL BOOK

A physical book will always win for me, but I see the advantage of e-readers.


FICTIONAL CHARACTER YOU PROBABLY WOULD HAVE ACTUALLY DATED IN HIGH SCHOOL

Umm. If I was in high school, I would have wanted it to be someone like Alec from The Mortal Instruments series. But as for who I would actually have dated? We're definitely talking closer to Merlin from Once and Future.


GLAD YOU GAVE THIS BOOK A CHANCE

I think this about a lot of books I've read in the last few years, but I'm going with A Man Called Ove. It was a surprisingly touching story that was nothing like I expected it to be.


HIDDEN GEM BOOK

The Deep. Rivers Solomon wrote the novella itself, but it started long before that. It's a really interesting exploration of the role of memory and how our history shapes our community.

IMPORTANT MOMENT IN YOUR READING LIFE

Honestly I'm not sure what to put here...studying literature at university? Going to the library with my family when I was little?


JUST FINISHED

The last book I finished was Red, White and Royal Blue - which I recently posted a review of too! Alex ended up meaning a lot to me, so it's an important book for me.


KIND OF BOOKS YOU WON’T READ

Any kind of horror or psychological thriller. I'll take a murder mystery, but I'd rather read something that didn't scare me.

LONGEST BOOK YOU’VE READ

Had to check Goodreads for this, but The Goldfinch. Not surprising really; it's a chunky book. So worth it though.



MAJOR BOOK HANGOVER BECAUSE OF:

White Teeth, by Zadie Smith. Part of the hangover was because I studied it at uni so had to take it apart bit by bit, but I buddy read it with my housemate/coursemate and we had countless discussions about the intricacies of the book. Incredible and heartbreaking. Fully recommend!


NUMBER OF BOOKCASES YOU OWN

So technically I don't own any bookcases...I know - outrageous! My books live on a shelf in my wardrobe, on a step in my room, and on my nightstand. A full bookshelf is the goal and I could definitely nearly fill one already, but I've never really needed one since I have the storage space.


ONE BOOK YOU HAVE READ MULTIPLE TIMES

Not a re-reader to tell the truth, not entirely sure there are any books I've read multiple times!

PREFERRED PLACE TO READ

Curled up in my armchair, preferably with a blanket and some biscuits or a slice of cake!


QUOTE THAT INSPIRES YOU

"There's some good in this world, Mr. Frodo. And it's worth fighting for."

READING REGRET

Trying to read self-help books. If they help people, that's great. But I think you need to find them really organically or they won't help. There's been quite a few that I've read as a result of seeking out non-fiction topics that might help me change my perspective or "grow as a person" and they were some of the hardest books to get through.


SERIES YOU STARTED AND NEED TO FINISH (ALL BOOKS ARE OUT)

The Witcher series! I paused at book 4 to take a little break and read something else, but I'm yet to pick them back up.


THREE OF YOUR ALL-TIME FAVOURITE BOOKS

Red, White, and Royal Blue, Casey McQuiston

The Song of Achilles, Madeline Miller

Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen


UNAPOLOGETIC FANGIRL FOR:

Holes, by Louis Sachar. I know, it's something everyone reads at school, but you can't deny that it is very well written and kind of hilarious.


VERY EXCITED FOR THIS RELEASE MORE THAN ALL THE OTHERS

Definitely excited for The Gilded Ones! Pre-ordered it months ago but the release has been delayed, as with most books...


WORST BOOKISH HABIT

Starting about four books at the same time... I just get impatient to start the next thing!


X MARKS THE SPOT: START AT THE TOP LEFT OF YOUR SHELF AND PICK THE 27TH BOOK

Poems of Byron, Keats, and Shelley, a collection I picked up in a charity shop when I spotted it and fell in love.


YOUR LATEST BOOK PURCHASE

Red, White, and Royal Blue as it has been on my TBR for a while and I wanted something easy - well worth it!



ZZZ-SNATCHER BOOK (BOOK THAT KEPT YOU UP WAY LATE)

Cemetery Boys! Granted it wasn't that late, but it was nearly midnight when normally I'm asleep by half 10.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page