top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan

Unpopular Bookish Opinions

Hey guys! I've been getting into book tags a lot recently, especially when it comes to controversial opinions.

After reading Bookish Wisps Unpopular Bookish Opinions, I thought I'd consider myself tagged by her and have a go at it myself. Read Justine's tag here!


 

Popular Books or Series I wasn't feeling

Emma, Jane Austen


As much as I love Austen (and I really love Austen) I can't seem to enjoy Emma. I know there's more too it than an ignorant, privileged girl trying to play matchmaker. I get that it's a larger commentary on the role of women, marriage as an occupation or competition, etc.


But I just don't enjoy the story. It's that simple.


Books or Series I Enjoyed more than the masses

It feels like such a cop out but I really can't think of a book that answers this. A lot of the books I read come from recommendations or scrolling through bookstagram, which means the majority of the people enjoy the books I read. What can I say? I don't read very controversial books.


A Failed Love Triangle

Katniss/Peeta/Gale - The Hunger Games


To tell the truth, I never believed any of the romance from Katniss, toward either guy. I think Katniss is an incredible character but the romantic plotline of The Hunger Games series never convinced me. I loved the fake love story that Peeta sold to the capital, but when it came to real love, I couldn't believe it from anyone except for Peeta. Gale and Katniss probably would have married had she not been pulled into the games, sure, but I'm not sure they ever truly loved each other.

Come to think of it, Gale was a bit of a boring character all round and I'm not sure what purpose he served past the love triangle...



Popular Genres I Rarely Read


Romance/Chick-Lit


I just don't really get reading about everyday life. Romance as part of another genre is great, but by itself? I just feel a bit dispassionate about it all.


Unless it's an AU fanfic. Then the whole point can be people falling in love and I'll happily read it all.



Beloved Characters I Don't Like

Dumbledore


I debated for a while whether I could put Dumbledore in this category. He has become, after all, a controversial character.


But the truth is, I rarely dislike characters enough to have anything to say about them. Some aren't for me, but they add to the story so what the hell, I'll take them. Dumbledore, however, infuriates me. And yes, if he had given Harry all the answers he wanted then there wouldn't be a story for us to read but Dumbledore was so utterly unhelpful to him. Harry is a teenager throughout the entire series, he comes from a household that abuses him to a school where everyone believes him a saviour...and yet, Dumbledore offers him nothing. Harry only looks up to him because he thinks he's an omniscient, benevolent father figure, but Dumbledore is sometimes clueless and frequently lost in the world of politics - so much so that he cannot see the young boy in front of him, needed only to be loved.


Popular Authors I Can't Get Into

Sarah J. Mass


In fact, I'm not sure how she's as popular as she is. Years and years ago I picked up Throne of Glass because it looked like an amazing YA fiction about a badass female.


And she turned out to be such a Mary Sue. She was good at everything and every man lusted after her and she had a mysterious past as an assassin but was also a perfect lady and this and that and the other.

You know what? Mass may be a good writer. But that one book, that one character, put me off ever picking up her work again. I just don't get it.


Overused Tropes I'm Tired of Seeing

Returning to a Tiny Home Town


Don't care where you came from, only care where you're going.


That's a lie, backstory is very important to me. But I don't care for stories about returning to a small home town and realising there's more to it than you first suspected.


Popular Books or Series I Won't Read

The Mortal Instruments


Before anyone tries to tell me how good they are, I know! I've had friends telling me since they first came out that I should read them, that I'd enjoy them, they're right up my street.


And they'd be totally correct. However trash it might be to lovers of the books, I adore the Shadowhunters TV show. Like I regularly rewatch sections of it (*cough* Malec *cough*).


But I cannot commit myself to the thousands of books that Cassandra Clare has written. It's not happening. I rarely read series and, I can't lie, I don't care an awful lot for Clary and Jace. It's everybody else I want to hear about, so I'm afraid I shan't be reading The Mortal Instruments (or any prequel/sequel series) any time soon.


Movie Adaptions I Prefer to the Books

Little Women!


In fact, I have a whole review about this, comparing the two versions of Little Women. I read the book a short while before the film came out and wasn't all that fussed about it, but I loved the film...the first half at least! Read my full review here!



 

That took way more thinking about than I assumed it would! So there are my unpopular bookish opinions, how about yours? Consider yourself tagged!


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page