top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan

The Coffee (and Tea) Tag

Time for another bookish tag! This time round its the #coffeebooktag.


Coffee and books are one of the ultimate combinations, especially when it comes to bookstagram. For my part, I love coffee, but I'm pretty basic about hot drinks. Milk and sugar are a must when it comes to coffee, and it's fun to try new flavours at cafes, but I never drink tea (I might be English, but it is one of the worst drinks I have ever tried).


Now that's cleared up, let's get into the tag!


 


BLACK: A SERIES THAT IS TOUGH TO GET INTO BUT HAS HARDCODE FANS


I've been thinking about this one for a while because there are plenty of series that I could mention here (I'm not much of a series person) but the crown has to go to Game of Thrones. It's just so loooonnggg. I got into the TV show just before the final season, so I watched it all at once without having to wait on anything - and I still got confused about timelines and characters and how everything fit together! I don't think I have the patience or memory to read those books.


PEPPERMINT MOCHA: A BOOK THAT GETS MORE POPULAR DURING THE WINTER OR A FESTIVE TIME OF YEAR



Well that's got to be Harry Potter. Sure, it's popular most the year round and @book_roasts Magical Readathon takes place over the summer. But let's be honest, Harry Potter is a winter thing. It's that nostalgic, cosy feeling of familiarity and safety that has so many of us returning to it year after year.


HOT CHOCOLATE: A FAVOURITE CHILDREN’S BOOK


I always find this question quite hard. Whilst I've always been a big reader, as a child I read everything and anything. I don't have one of those childhood loves that will always be with me.


That being said, this question only asks for a favourite children's book, not necessarily one that I read in my childhood. Therefore, I guess I might answer Peter Pan if it counts as a children's book. It has a lot of concepts that can apply to adulthood (in fact, I wrote a whole post about this over on The Struggling Graduate if you want to know more about this!) but I suppose it's generally put with children's literature so I'm counting it!


DOUBLE SHOT OF ESPRESSO: A BOOK THAT KEPT YOU ON THE EDGE OF YOUR SEAT FROM START TO FINISH


An open copy of One of Us is Next lies in front of closed copies of One of Us is Lying and Two Can Keep A Secret, all my Karen McManus. They are all placed in front of a pillow which is decorated with a street sign for Baker Street.

One of Us is Lying was one of the first murder mysteries I read and it was incredible. I've said it before and I'll say it again, McManus is so skilled when it comes to writing realistic teenagers. I remember flying through this book because I just couldn't wait to find out what had happened.


STARBUCKS: A BOOK YOU SEE EVERYWHERE


I see Six of Crows all over bookstagram. I still don't really know what it's about but I'm slowly being brainwashed into wanting to read it purely by being exposed to it on repeat!


OOPS I ACCIDENTALLY GOT DECAF: A BOOK YOU WERE EXPECTING MORE FROM


Clap When You Land. I recently finished this, and I have a full review up here, but in short...I wasn't expecting poetry. This one's on me really, Acevedo is known for writing in verse, but I didn't really register this before starting the book and the format just doesn't quite work for me.


THE PERFECT BLEND: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT WAS BOTH BITTER AND SWEET, BUT ULTIMATELY SATISFYING


Okay, this isn't where I thought my answer would end up but Zadie Smith's White Teeth fits this prompt so well. It's a beautiful, heartbreaking book which captures the flow of life and love so incredibly well. Smith is a brilliant writer, she is so good at portraying humans as they really are; she shows them in all their flawed wonder and it is incredible. Go read White Teeth.

GREEN TEA: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT IS QUIETLY BEAUTIFUL


An open book rests on a womans crossed legs, alongside a coffee.

I'm not sure where the rules stand on including poetry books but Great Goddesses by Nikita Gill fits this category so well. The collection is a combination of verse and prose and it is so beautifully put together, telling the story of the Greek Gods in such a heartfelt way.



CHAI TEA: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT MAKES YOU DREAM OF FAR OFF PLACES

Cloud Atlas. I always forget about Cloud Atlas but it is such an evocative book. Not every story is set in a world I would want to visit, but it was an incredible book. Hella long, but definitely made me feel like going on an adventure.



EARL GREY: NAME YOUR FAVOURITE CLASSIC


A line up of Wordsworth editions of classic novels, varying in condition.

Okay, this one was quite tricky. For one, I'm really bad at remembering the plots of classics (either they have a very slow plot or they are quite convoluted and don't stick in my head). But Oscar Wilde is one of my favourite authors and The Picture of Dorian Gray is a beautiful exploration of morality and superficiality.


 

And there you have the Coffee Tag. This one was so much easier than the other reading tags I've done - maybe because coffee is one of the best things in life so that made things so much easier.


Feel free to count yourself tagged if you feel like doing the tag yourself, and be sure to let me know you've done it!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page