top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan

The Graduate Diaries - Where I am Today.

Welcome to The Graduate Diaries. This is something a little different to my usual content, but it's something I really feel the need to talk about. Also my mum suggested it and I can't go wrong following her advice. Books are still my absolute passion and 100% the focus of this blog - I'll be posting about them every Sunday as per usual. However, I also want to use this space I created for myself to address my lack of a job.


You may have noticed (although probably not) the 'Hire Me' tab that has appeared in the top right corner of my blog. It's not my long-term plan, but if you want help with copywriting, proofreading, editing, content writing (or anything else you think an English graduate - with a First Class degree - might be able to help you with), please check out that page and drop me a message!


For context, I graduated yesterday. Like, wore the gown, shook the hands, got the certificate, graduated. I sat my last exam on the 24th of May. Most of the time in between, and a fair amount of time throughout my third year, was spent job searching.


And boy is it demotivating.


Through my life so far, there's always been a next step expected of me, a path to follow. Finished school? Go to college. Finished college? Go to uni. Finished uni? The world is your oyster, be free and please yourself (whilst also earning a wage).


What does one do with that absolute freedom?


I want a job. I have some idea of the field I want to work in. But god the process of becoming employed is difficult.


Suddenly, instead of a structured way of applying to 4 or 5 institutes, I have to just...apply to jobs with titles I don't really understand, vague job descriptions, and maybe several layers of tests/interviews before I can be approved.


It's a really difficult change, and I'm tired of the whole process. I really do want to work and create in a professional capacity, but I'm struggling to find the motivation to even apply a lot of the time. So, I'm writing this series. I'm going to focus on my own job hunt, but will touch upon more general topics which I'm sure many people have opinions on. Hopefully writing will help vent some of my frustration, as well as reassure other graduates that this next step isn't easy (certainly not as easy as I had imagined it to be) and you're not alone if you're struggling to find a job. Keep plugging away. We'll get there soon.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page