top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan

TGD - How to Optimise Your LinkedIn Profile

I work in marketing and I have exposure to a couple of different social media platforms, but the main one I look after (we won't say 'run' because that implies responsibility, and that scares me) is LinkedIn.


(I will clarify, I don't work at LinkedIn, I market on LinkedIn. Important distinction).


All of this is actually quite convenient when it comes to writing blog posts for graduates.


Before graduating, I used LinkedIn a little because I was aware it was a a business network and would be useful when it came to finding a job and networking. It never seemed like the most important social media and I wasn't really aware of what I could do on it, other than repeat my CV and make it available for people to view.


After graduating, I started using LinkedIn a lot. These blogs, The Graduate Diaries, were (and sometimes still are) posted on LinkedIn to gain readership and provide an honest, account of life after graduation. As I wanted to get involved in copywriting, the thought was that I could build a portfolio whilst putting my work out there for employers to see.


LinkedIn is also a great platform for applying for jobs. It makes company research super easy, as well offering a variety of filters, and highlighting similar positions to what you've applied for. You can also directly contact people within the company you apply to, reaching out to figure out if the culture is the right fit for you or if they have any advice (of course, this depends on people being nice and helping, but I've found it works about 30% of the time, so worth a shot!). I'd definitely suggest using it for your applications.


Now, I use LinkedIn daily as a part of my job. I might not have been in this position long, but I've got a lot of insight into how to optimise your profile which I thought I'd share with all you job hunters out there!


Profile Picture

Fun fact: LinkedIn reports that users with a photo in their profile receive 21 times more profile views. 21 times more, simply for a picture.


This isn't like most social medias where anything will do, you want something that looks clean and professional. It doesn't have to be professionally shot, and you don't even need to be fully suited up for it, it just has to be a good picture of you - and just you. Just find a plain background and take a simple headshot on your phone (though try to avoid it looking like a selfie).


Don't overthink it. It adds a lot to your profile, but it isn't the on


Tagline/Headline

Whatever you call it, that little phrase at the top of your profile has a massive impact. It shows up when people search you, in your conversations, on your posts. That phrase could be the only thing people see about you, so make it impactful.


People usually put their job title in this section - which is totally fine by the way! - but you can also spruce it up with your key skills or an exciting description. Keep in mind it can only be 120 characters though.


Description

Descriptions about yourself are always horrible to write. From a twitter bio to a cover letter, I'm not sure anyone ever enjoys trying to sum themselves up in a description.


On LinkedIn, you want your description to cover the skills relevant to your dream job. This is, essentially, a permanent cover letter - you could even use some of the same lines you use in your cover letter. My advice is to write a simple account of your previous experience, with a focus on the skills it gave you...so yeah, a cover letter. This doesn't need to be as persuasive, however. At the end of the day, it's a social media profile for the working world, not your application. Keep it simple and talk about what you do.


A great addition to your profile is a video introduction to yourself. This is completely optional of course, but showing you have the confidence to present yourself in this form could really make you stand out as an applicant and help your connections get a feel for yourself.


Banner

So many people fail to utilise the banner, I cannot tell you how frustrated I get about it. Granted, I work with companies who should fill that banner with their branding, but just because you're an individual and not a company doesn't mean you don't have a brand.


Canva is a great, free resource for making your own banner (there's even templated examples on their to help you out). Everyone knows we pay more attention to pictures than to text, so fill this space with something attention grabbing and simple. Show the people viewing your profile exactly who you are in a quick, effective image.


Ask for Endorsements

Did you know people can endorse your skills on LinkedIn? It's essentially somebody else coming in and saying "yep, they can do that".


It's like having a reference from a workplace, except it doesn't have to be your manager and they don't have to be work related skills. Endorsements just mean that somebody has acknowledged your skill, rather than you (in the eyes of a potential employer) blindly claiming you know how to do something. It's added credibility.


Accomplishments

There's a section near the bottom of your profile which you might not use but definitely should. Here you can list courses you've taken, languages you speak, publications you've made, awards you've been given and more. It's a great place to list all your accomplishments. As a graduate it is especially useful; you may not have much work experience, but the accomplishments section lets you show off about other things you've done and proves you're more than just your degree.



Conclusion

LinkedIn is a brilliant platform if used in the right way, so I hope some of this helps you create an amazing profile! I'll probably make more diary entries about LinkedIn because there is so much to explore on the platform, so if you have any questions be sure to send them my way! Until then,


Good Luck!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page