top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan

How To Write A Blog Post

If you're new to blogging, writing your first post can be intimidating.


Even if you've been blogging for years, it can still be difficult to feel like you've got a handle on things.


I've been writing on Another English Student for nearly 2 years now, and I've only recently found a way to feel on top of things. For me, planning my blog schedule is one of the most important elements of blogging. If I have a plan in place for that, I know when and what I have to write.


Today I've put together some explanations on how I write which should help anyone feeling unsure of themselves. There's some tips, some advice, and even a downloadable calendar!



Scheduling

When it comes to scheduling, I like to remain very on top of things. I'm one of those detail-oriented forward planners. I like to know who, what, why, where, and when for everything. I've got a little more relaxed about this in terms of social events, but for my blog, everything is scheduled in.


I actually write for three different blogs: Another English Student, my own website where I have free reign; The Struggling Graduate, an awesome blog where I guest write a series on books I recommend to graduates; and, as of this this month, Emposia, an incredible blanket seller and bookish content creator. Because of this, it's really important to me that I stay on top of things.


In order to do this, I created the calendar below! (downloadable here)


Around the third week of each month, I fill in my next months planned posts (so 3 weeks into January, I'll start planning February). I write the title of each post on the day it will be posted, so that I know it needs to be finished before then. Then I make it my computer background: this means it becomes a reminder to write, and an easy way to look my deadlines.


This is also helpful for my TBR as it helps decide what I need to read and when I need it read by in order to make a post about it.


If you want access to the calendar, you can download it here and create your own blog schedule!




Planning

So here's a controversial statement: I don't plan.


I'm really bad for it, always have been. I usually just have phrases in my head which I build whole posts around, without really planning a structure.


I'm aware it makes for bad writing, increased editing, and, I know from experience, that when I do plan things I make my own life so much easier. Buuuuuut I never learn from that.


As hypocritical as it is, I am going to recommend you plan. Here's my method for planning book reviews, though it largely works for any blog post I write. I start by writing down all the main points I'm want to talk about; I try to have a paragraph covering plot, character, writing, and then whatever I found most interesting (or frustrating) about the book.


After I have my main paragraph points, I structure my writing. Structure can change depending on what I'm writing about so the focus is really on making sure it flows correctly. Sometimes after writing a piece I'll move paragraphs around, but in the planning stage I try to make sure things will naturally follow on from each other - which should make writing it easier.


Often as I plan I'll write phrases or sentence that I think I want to use underneath my paragraph titles, to use when I get round to writing. A lot of the time this is because I think of things I want to say whilst still reading the book, so I'll jot them down in a notebook or straight into a draft post, just so I can return to them later on.


Writing

After this, I'm ready to write. I'm surprisingly erratic with this. Considering I'm such a massive organiser and I like to put schedules in place, when it comes to writing I tend to work on several things at once and often it takes a couple of sittings to finish each post.


I wouldn't advise against this method, as such, but there are definitely more efficient ways to write (especially if you're writing fiction - would advise working chronologically and on one thing at a time if that's the case).


Ultimately writing is down to the individual. Some people like complete silence, others put on music. Personally, I like some ambient sound, which is why I loved writing in cafés when I was at university (oh how I miss setting up in a cafe and staying there for hours as I worked). Write by hand or on a laptop, with colour coding, editing as you go, or writing 1000 words before you stop and look at what you've been saying. Write first thing in the morning, during your lunch break, or in the middle of the night. Write at home, or in the park, or a café, or in your car. Dictate to your phone - or somebody else - to help get the thoughts out of your head.


What I want to emphasise is that there is no wrong way to write. Whatever works for you is the perfect way to write.


Editing

Please edit. That's all I really have to say for this section. Whether you plan or not, whether you write a whole post in one sitting or several, you need to take the time to proof-read your work.


The best piece of advice I have when it comes to editing is to walk away from your work for at least 24 hours. If you finish some writing and instantly go back to proof-read, what you thought you wrote is still going to be in your head, so you won't be able to see any mistakes quite so easily.


If you are able to leave the piece for some time, your brain won't be as quick to put together the sentences you've written (though this will always be a problem - you know how you think/write/talk so you're going to guess what is on the page before you get there). This will give you a much better opportunity for spotting any grammar errors or a lack of clarity in your writing - super helpful if you're publishing writing for other people.



Conclusion

So there you have it. How I write a blog post, and some tips for how you can start writing yours!


Writing really is down to the individual, especially when it comes to something like a blog. They're personal spaces so my advice would be to take the opportunity to experiment as much as you can - if you want to write in any professional sense this is the best chance you'll have to have fun, try new things, and please yourself entirely.


I hope this was helpful and if you have any questions, feel free to reach out! You can find my on Instagram @anotherenglishstudent

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page