top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan

Book Reader Problems Tag

Another very old tag to share, but I really enjoy filling these in...One day I'll do one that's actually up to date! I found this one on The Book Nut, and couldn't resist.


YOU HAVE 20.000 BOOKS IN YOUR TBR. HOW DO YOU DECIDE WHAT TO READ NEXT?

So real life? Honestly, I just pick up the next book that feels right.

Or the next one the library has.


YOU’RE HALFWAY THROUGH A BOOK AND JUST NOT LOVING IT – DO YOU PUT IT DOWN OR ARE YOU COMMITTED?

In theory, I put it down. I have told myself many times that I should put down books I don't like. I have spent a lot of time reading books I don't enjoy. And yet, something in me can't do it. I have DNF'd so few books because of this and it's a habit I really want to stop. Life is too short for bad books.


THE END OF THE YEAR IS COMING AND YOU’RE BEHIND ON YOUR READING CHALLENGE. DO YOU TRY TO CATCH UP? AND IF SO, HOW?

Again, real life. I don't set hard targets, usually just a couple of books more than I achieved the year before and it's never really a high number when I look at what some people read. But, if I was running behind...well, I'd try to catch up by reading at every possible moment. Pick a book up every time I think I could watch TV or play Sims.


THE COVERS OF A SERIES YOU LOVE DO NOT MATCH. HOW DO YOU COPE?

I'm not that fussed about matching covers, even when I really love a series. Instagram is the main reason I search out matching covers, but unless they are cheap second-hand books I probably wouldn't bother replacing whichever covers I had.


EVERYONE AND THEIR MOTHER LOVES A BOOK THAT YOU DO NOT. WHO DO YOU BOND WITH OVER YOUR SHARED FEELINGS?

I would likely find someone on bokstagram to be honest - it's a great way to make friends on there! There are a couple of people in real life who might get it, but I'm more likely to be talking at them (i.e. my sister) rather than being able to share the feelings.


YOU’RE READING A BOOK IN PUBLIC AND YOU’RE ABOUT TO START CRYING. HOW DO YOU DEAL?

I'm not against crying in public!


THE SEQUEL TO A BOOK YOU LOVED JUST CAME OUT, BUT YOU’VE FORGOTTEN A LOT OF WHAT HAPPENS. ARE YOU GOING TO REREAD IT?

Honestly I'll just read it knowing that things won't make complete sense but putting it together as I go. Or, if it's really not making sense, I'll read a summary of events online (and hope I don't find spoilers!)


YOU DO NOT WANT ANYONE TO BORROW YOUR BOOKS. HOW DO YOU POLITELY SAY NO WHEN SOMEONE ASKS?

For a long time this was me, I'd just be like "sure" and then never remember to bring it with me when I saw them. Now? I lend things out and unless it's a book that's important to me, I don't really chase people to get it back. I know a lot of books live on my shelves unloved...I'd rather pass them on.


YOU HAVE PICKED UP AND PUT DOWN 5 BOOKS IN THE LAST MONTH. HOW DO YOU GET OVER THIS READING SLUMP?

Probably abandon reading for a little bit, watch TV for a bit and hopefully get some inspiration for what to read from there. I often find that if I enjoy a show, I'll look for similar vibes from other shows or books which can help with reading slumps.


THERE ARE SO MANY BOOKS COMING OUT THAT YOU ARE DYING TO READ, HOW MANY DO YOU END UP BUYING?

Two books a month is probably my average. I'm really trying to use the library more, or sites like bookswap (which I guess is still buying books, but feels different). I have a lot of books on my TBR but I don't love spending a lot of money on books - especially if I don't know if I'm going to like them. I try to only buy if I'm convinced it's for me.


AFTER YOU PURCHASE ALL OF THESE BOOKS YOU’RE DYING TO READ, HOW LONG DO THEY SIT ON YOUR SHELVES BEFORE YOU GET TO THEM?

If I'm truly dying to read them, not long. I'll finish my current read and dive in. If they're just somewhere high on the TBR, it could be months before they get there turn. I own about 30 books I haven't read, so they will fall somewhere in that stack until the day I suddenly know that it's time!

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page