top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan

Book Review: Aurora Rising

Rating: 5/5

Spoiler Alert! This review will contain spoilers, you have been warned...

 

Have I just started 2021 with the best book ever and everything is only downhill from here? Quite possibly, yes.


Aurora Rising was something I saw quite a bit on bookstagram - it wasn't everywhere but it was definitely beloved by those who had read it. I've spoken before (and I'm tempted to make a full post) about over-hyped books, but I read the description at a point where I was looking to find something new and something that wasn't fantasy. I've got a bit bored of fantasy tropes and I've been dipping my toe into sci-fi so thought it looked like a good one to try.


And wow was I right. In fact, I'm now one of those people on bookstagram who won't shut up about how good it is. This book is everything you want from a team of misfits.


World-building is integrated fluently into the writing; it never felt like the story was on pause in order for the world (or the characters' backstories) to be explained. Instead, everything was explained as and when it needed to be, or else left to the reader's inference. I find that a lot of sci-fi and fantasy books are full of exposition, but Aurora Rising used Auri's lack of understanding of the world she had woken up to brilliantly, allowing the reader a window into the world we were also new too without containing an overwhelming amount of information.


The changing perspective massively helped with this, especially with two alien crewmates. Their worlds, as well as the human world, could be explained to the reader without feeling clunky or for our benefit - it was always for the other characters and a part of their bonding. I'm not always a fan of changing points of view, especially with seven main characters in this series, but it was managed really well and each character was given the space to introduce themselves, the length and frequency of their narration matching up to their personalities (yes, I'm mainly thinking about Zila and Tyler here!).


Squad 312 is made up of a brilliant set of characters who are diverse and play off each other really well. I know the obvious question is who was my favourite but I've been finding it quite tough to decide! Scarlett is obviously brilliant, and her heart is what sets her apart. Sure, she can read people, but she cares about them so much, is so ready to do anything to help them, and do it in a way that makes them comfortable, that I can't help but admire her. Also a big fan of Fin, especially considering the relationship developing with Scarlett; I'm not sure I quite see them as romantic partners, but their platonic friendship is really touching and I'm glad she's breaking down his outer-shell.


On the other hand, I'm less of a fan of Cat. The frustrating part is that I don't even think it's because of her as a character. She's cocky, she's a brilliant pilot, and she's loyal to a fault; in other words, she is a well-written character who I shouldn't have a problem with. However, her being in love with Tyler never quite worked for me. They make brilliant friends and their teamwork is phenomenal. But I never quite believed her love for Tyler. It felt like great admiration and a little bit of delusion - like she needed somebody to guide her and that's what Tyler offered, so she attached herself to him. I'd have been happier to see Cat fall in love with Scarlett and maintain the dynamic she had with Ty, to tell the truth.


What I did like about Cat (and this isn't going to sound great but I'm going for it anyway) is that she lost. I know, I know how that sounds but let me explain! So often in YA books, the danger isn't truly dangerous. It's not deadly. There's no such issue in Aurora Rising; the stakes are very real and very close to home. By upping the drama like this, my investment in them all is soooo much higher. These children (I'm sorry, 18-year-olds are still children and should not have so much responsibility, I know that's the point of YA but I maintain that they are babies) have already lost someone important to them, things have gone so massively wrong for them already and its only book 1!! Instantly my emotional investment in this team is so much higher than it would have been had they all survived and everyone was unhurt. I am sorry to see Cat go, I think she had potential, but in a twisted sort of way, I'm glad it happened.


It's been a long time since I've read a book that was so obviously designed to exist as a series. So many answers are still missing and I'm genuinely excited to find out...well, I'm also a bit scared too because whilst I can read the second book, Aurora Burning, as soon as it arrives, the third book is not out and there's no publication date yet soooooo that's going to be afun wait! BUT I'm so, so excited to read more about this team and watch them grow - I cannot wait to see how this tilogy continues and ends.


Have you read the Aurora Cycle yet? What are your thoughts on it? I'd love to discuss!



P.S. Why are aliens to humanoid all the time? Can we all agree to stop being scared to make aliens look weird af because of the different environments they exist in? Cool, thanks.

bottom of page