top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan

My 2020 TBR (i.e. Why are there so many good books?)

As I was going through lists of upcoming releases the same question just kept coming up: how am I ever meant to read all the good books that are released?


This blog does not have an answer to that question, but what I do have is a list of books I hope to read this year! The majority are new releases, but there are some older books which I've been meaning to get around to reading for a while now and never quite managed it so fingers crossed this is the year it happens! 🤞 As long as this is, it isn't a comprehensive list and I don't doubt that I won't get to most of them, but at least I now have a reference list if I'm ever unsure of what to read next...


Also, before we get into the books, massive shoutout to BookBirds whose incredible list of 2020 releases was a major help as I made this list.


 

The Last Wish (The Witcher Series) by Andrzej Sapkowski

My boyfriend has been a massive fan of The Witcher since before I knew him, and he's tried a couple of times to get me to either play the game or read the books. I tried the game and got fed up with the tutorial, but the books have always been on my radar.


With the release of Netflix's Witcher, staring Henry Caville, I've finally decided to jump into the universe. I surprised myself by really enjoying the series (if you liked Game of Thrones, you'll probably like The Witcher) so I've asked to borrow the books...let's see how many I can get through!



One of Us Is Next by Karen M. McManus

I am so, so, so excited for McManus' next book. If you've read my reviews of One of Us is Lying and Two Can Keep A Secret, you'll be familiar with how much I love these mysteries. They're pretty much what got me started with YA thrillers, something which I'd now count as a favourite genre.


One of Us is Next is the sequel to One of Us is Lying, seeing us return to the same school where a new truth or dare game seems to have taken over. I haven't read much more about the book because I already know I want to read it. If I can avoid learning anything more about the mystery, I shall.


(I am slightly miffed that the title doesn't start with 'Three' though - it would have been so satisfying.)



Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

We all know how massive this book has been on bookstagram and booktube so I'm giving in and seeing if it lives up to the hype!


Even though I don't really know what it's about.



Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin

The war between witches and the Church is an ancient one. When Lou, a runaway witch, and Reid, sworn to the church as a Chasseur, don't just cross paths but are sworn to one another in holy matrimony, their loyalties are tested, and their feelings become a lot more complicated.


This book has also been massive online, in part because of the gorgeous cover, and I've wanted to read it for a couple of months now. Finding out it's a about witches was the cherry on top.



Jo's Boys/Little Men by Louisa May Alcott

So I read Little Women in 2019 so that I could go see the film with my mum and avoid spoilers/be able to compare/see what I was missing. Except it turns out that the film goes further than the first book (check my book to film comparison coming next week for more detail on this). So I guess now I need to read the rest of the books in the series...luckily for me, my mum has copies of all three.


I might not have loved Little Women when I read the book, but the film gave me a different appreciation of the characters, so lets see how they hold up in the rest of the books.



Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman

Another one I want to read because I've watched the TV show, Good Omens has been on the list since it popped up all over Tumblr (that'll happen when David Tennant is in a new show). Whilst the show was a little disappointing considering the build up I'd experienced thanks to Tumblr gifs, it was easy watching and just a lot of fun at it's core, so hopefully the book is just as good.


With authors like Pratchett and Gaiman, it's unlikely to be bad. But we'll see.



Rogue Princess by B.R. Myers

This kind of gives me Princess Leia/Star Wars vibes which has me super intrigued. I'm trying to read more sci-fi after enjoying a couple of science fiction books this year and Rogue Princess sounds like just the kind of thing to get me excited about more.


A runaway princess and a thief (attempted thief really, he kind of gets kidnapped by the princess before having the change to steal anything) discover a rebel conspiracy that could destroy their planet forever. And let's be honest, I am crazy excited to watch them fall in love as they battle wit and save their planet.



Alice by Heart by Steven Sater

I'm not too sure about Alice by Heart but I have a bit of a soft spot for tales like Alice in Wonderland or Peter Pan with the idea of growing up at it's heart, so I had to put it on my list.


Set against the Blitz of World War II, this book follows two children, Alice and Alfred, forced to take shelter in an underground tube station. With the doctors quarantining Alfred for his tuberculosis, Alice uses the book that bonded them, Alice in Wonderland, to escape their reality. As the night goes on, reality and fantasy become blurred and Alice faces the possibility of losing herself in Wonderland.


Like I said, I can't resist an Alice story and I think this is an really cool backdrop to set it against. After all, reading is an attempt to escape for so many and this book seems like it's going to get a little meta on that front.



Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

This series has excited me for the longest time but I think I've been scared that it will let me down. It's sounded so good, full of magic and sisterhood, and royalty, that I think I let it build up too much in my head. I put off reading it hoping that I could let my excitement die down before finally getting to it buuuut I think I'm just as excited as ever.


With three magic sisters and a fight for the crown, (plus 2 more books in the series), I know I'm going to fall in love with Three Dark Crowns.


What Kind of Girl by Alyssa Sheinmel

On a more serious note, What Kind of Girl is about physical abuse within a relationship, and the potential effect lying about it could have. When Mike Parker's girlfriend shows up with a bruise on her face, talking to the principal about the fact he hit her, a lot of questions follow. Why go to the principal, and not the police? Has he hit her before? Why did she stay if he was hurting her? Is it true?


I think this could be a really interest exploration of physical abuse and the debate around "true" allegations and ruining lives/reputations, I just hope it is done in a sensitive and respectful way.



Only Mostly Devastated by Sophie Gonzales

I read this line "Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda meets Clueless, inspired by Grease" and knew I had to read this.


Over the Summer, Ollie meets Will, his dream guy. But then they go back to school. And end up at the same school. And Will isn't the same person Ollie knew over summer. He's the class clown, a bit of a jerk and, most frustrating of all, closeted.


Ollie has no intention of pining after somebody clearly not ready for a relationship, but they keep popping up in each other's lives. And I am SO ready for the pining and the hurt. This sounds a lot like the AU fanfictions I used to read and I'm excited to read a version of that.


Jack of Hearts (and other parts) by Lev A.C. Rosen

Jack Rothman is a pretty hot topic for the high school gossip machine, and he doesn't care all that much. He loves partying, makeup, and boys, simple as.


But when Jack starts an online sex advice column, the mysterious love letters he's been getting take a turn for the creepy and Jack's secret admirer begins to sound much like a stalker.


Exploring sexuality and the open display of queerness, I think this could be a fun, up to date read, with some darker, thriller-type elements to it.



The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna

So The Gilded Ones was something I'd never heard of until going through a list of 2020 book releases but it was instantly intriguing. I don't know whether it gives me too many 'chosen one' vobes, but I haven't read fantasy for a while (hence why you might spot a few on this list) and this definitely sounds like a new way to explore the idea


In Deka's village, there is a blood ceremony which determines whether you can be a member of the village. All you need is red blood. When Deka's blood runs gold and she faces a consequence worse than death, it doesn't seem like a difficult choice to go with the mysterious woman who offers her the chance to leave and fight for the emperor in an army of girls just like her.


These Witches Don't Burn by Isabel Sterling

Basically pulled into this one because witches are cool. That's genuinely the reason. I like the idea of covens and witches and girlfriends struggling to save their town from supernatural crises. Plus my sister said it was quite good.



Cemetary Boys by Aiden Thomas

You know what? I'm just gonna stick the book description here and you can try and tell me that this wouldn't be an incredible read:

'When his traditional Latinx family has problems accepting his gender, Yadriel becomes determined to prove himself a real brujo. With the help of his cousin and best friend Maritza, he performs the ritual himself, and then sets out to find the ghost of his murdered cousin and set it free.

However, the ghost he summons is actually Julian Diaz, the school’s resident bad boy, and Julian is not about to go quietly into death. He’s determined to find out what happened and tie up some loose ends before he leaves. Left with no choice, Yadriel agrees to help Julian, so that they can both get what they want. But the longer Yadriel spends with Julian, the less he wants to let him leave.'


Sounds incredible, I know.



Star Daughter by Shveta Thakrar

I wasn't that interested in Star Daughter as I read the description until I reached this phrase 'Neil Gaiman’s Stardust meets a rich landscape of Hindu mythology and celestial intrigue in this sparkling YA fantasy debut.'


I may not have read Gaiman before, but I love the film version of Stardust, and I'm really enjoying the BBC adaption of His Dark Materials, so I was more than sold with the idea of combining that with Hindu mythology.


Focusing on the daughter of a star and a moral, this book takes the protagonist, Sheetal, to a celestial court where she becomes her family's champion in a competition to decide the next ruling house of the heavens. And you know...that sounds pretty cool.



The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee

Since the third book in this series (The Nobleman's Guide to Scandal and Shipwrecks) is coming out in 2020, I figure it's probably time I get round to reading the first.


Henry "Monty" Montague is embarking on his grand tour of Europe with his best friend and travelling companion (and major crush) Percy. And he's decided he's going to make the most of this trip around Europe by being flirtatious and reckless...except this ends up making their trip into a harrowing manhunt. And I'm so intrigued by the idea of closeted 18th century (19th? I don't know yet) guy travelling round Europe and getting caught up in a manhunt that this should probably be closer to the top of the list.


 

I don't know if you can tell, but I'm really excited for the range of sexualities and cultures that are being represented in upcoming books. I also really want to get back into fantasy as I read a lot of it when I was younger but it fell to the wayside at university so hopefully the magic YA elements of this list will help me out on that front.


Like I said at the start, I probably won't get through all of these, and I still have a shelf full of unread books which I'm aiming to get through but I've already started on Good Omens so we're diving straight in!


What books are you excited to read this year? Are you about new releases or old favourites?

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page